Monday #43: Happy Father’s Day

I didn’t get to spend yesterday with my dad, but when I called him to wish him a Happy Father’s Day, he said , “I love being your dad, Dar.” And, I think that’s just about one of the nicest, most decent and caring things a parent can say to their child. Being a parent is difficult. I am not always good at it, myself, and I’m pretty sure I’ll never get it all down, but wanting to do it and being glad for the doing is the stuff of good relationships.

Today I am regressing to third grade and honoring my dad with an acrostic poem!

Full of ideas about Life and Living.

A best friend I did not expect to have.

Taking time to be curious and interested in my life.

Helping me through Life’s nasty little rough patches with love and humor.

Enlightened. (How important this is to me!)

Really good at listening. Really good. That’s rare.

I’m glad you’re my dad, Dad.

TRY THIS WEEK: Recognize the good stuff in your father.

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

