Monday #38: Friends With Benefits

There are now numerous studies out there to show that having a supportive network of good friends not only makes us feel happy and connected but helps us live longer and healthier lives. Last week I spent three days in Tiverton, RI where I went to give a talk to a group of teachers. I traveled with my friend, Deb, from NJ and we stayed with our mutual friends, Don and Johanna.

Don is an artist whose intricate work thrives in this quaint, waterfront town. Their home is on a regional studio tour line and is filled with a million fascinating little things to look at because Don not only makes art but collects it as well. I met Don through Johanna, who is a kindergarten teacher, but until this past week, our friendship had been entirely virtual–we were email and Facebook friends who had never actually met in person. You can read about Don and his “story art” on his web site and watch him in action on a short You Tube video taken in his studio.

Johanna and Don are gracious and wonderful hosts and the days flew by with much laughter and storytelling. A blustery day on the beach collecting rocks was filled with nature’s treasures and dramatic skies.

A morning in their garden revealed their reverence for the earth and the abundance of joy and inspiration that comes from the nurturing of small things.

On our last evening there, we shared a meal at a local seafood restaurant and talked about all kinds of things.

My life is enriched through friends like these and I feel very fortunate to have a career that allows me to mix so much pleasure with business. If the studies on longevity and friends are on the money, I will easily make it to my goal of 100.

While we were out on the beach, collecting rocks in a cold, whipping wind coming off the water, Johanna and Don referred to a seaside legend about rocks with white stripes.

I never knew this but, if you find a rock with white stripes, you can make a wish and then toss it into the ocean. I found such a rock, made my wish, and threw it into the waves. But, honestly, what more could I wish for? Thank you for a beautiful visit, Don and Johanna. You are both truly good friends.

TRY THIS WEEK: Thank a friend for being a friend.

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday #38: Friends With Benefits

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, Dar, for being my friend. 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    That was me. ^

Leave a Reply

