Monday #11: So (P)interesting

Are you Pinteresting? It’s the new computer time suck and, if you haven’t discovered it, hop on over to Pinterest to have a look-see. It’s an online pinboard to share the things on the internet that you see and like with others. It’s a visual bookmarking site for the individual user–a place you can go to return to things you’ve seen and want to remember–that allows you to categorize your “pins” and see them all at once. Similar to other social networking sites, you can follow people, “like” things, leave comments and, when you log on, it also has a feed that shows you what all your contacts have pinned recently. And, Pinterest gives you a button for your toolbar that you can use as you surf to put stuff directly to your boards.  Here are a few things I found just now on my feed.

Something for my “Be Inspired” category.

Something sweet (and easy to make) for my “Desserts” collection.

A pretty tribute to Fall for my “Art I Love” section.

A cute, cute, cute little doggie for my just-made “Animals” board.

And some wild doodling from a blog called Peony & Parakeet.

Once you see stuff that you like, it’s easy to follow the web of connections that placed it on the feed and begin following other people who like similar things. You’ll need to ask for an invitation, which I don’t really understand because as far as I can tell, everyone gets in for requesting.

As a visual person who has always saved URLs and images to my desktop files for revisiting, I really like the idea of being able to store them all in one place as thumbnails, but more than that, I love the sharing of stuff that happens in online places like Pinterest. It’s like a big round of applause for cool stuff and we all get to clap our hands together.

TRY THIS WEEK: Pinterest, of course! And, find me there!

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday #11: So (P)interesting

  1. Love the visual sharing… like minded folks with the same interests. Thanks for sharing this find, maybe I’ll find more like you!

  2. Andrea says:

    I, too, have recently found this site, and I am in awe of all the goodies here!
    I hope to find your Cranky Birds here too! Thanks Dar!

Leave a Reply

