Monday #10: Make Lemonade

Hear about the Northeast’s Halloween Weekend Nor’easter? It’s like a big, giant snow monster came and stomped a huge foot onto the tops of all the trees. SQUASH. Any trees that were near a power line took down the line and, of course, knocked out power for miles around. I’ve been without power since Saturday night. This morning, it was a chilly 52 degrees in my house. The schools are closed today and they have even canceled Halloween because there are so many live wires hanging on the streets. A good friend who’d heard about my predicament said that today would probably be the first Monday Blog I’d miss.

Well, friends, where there is a will, there is a way.

Actually, it hasn’t required me to be too willful as my friend, just one street over has her power (seriously, how can that be?). So, in exchange for chaperoning a warm house full of teenagers (including mine who have been here at her house since Saturday) while she is away at work, I have wifi and running water. I am going to enjoy it until about 4:00 when I think that we will have most certainly worn out our welcome. Then it will be back to the cold and powerless house which, we have heard, might be the situation until the end of the week. I’ve yet to see a single utility truck so I believe it.

I know that when life gives you lemons you are supposed to make lemonade.  So, today I present to you a baker’s dozen things I’ve learned from a weird, Halloween weekend snow storm that cancels trick-or-treating and wipes out power for a week.

1. If you aren’t the type of person who enjoys camping, you will be able confirm this fact about yourself.

2. You will get a deeper understanding of water usage and conservation when you discover how much water it takes to flush a toilet completely. And I mean completely.

3. If you hate soft, gooey chapstick, you will find that 52 degrees is just about the perfect temperature to keep it at the right firmness.

4. You might realize that you have some slightly obsessive-compulsive hand-washing practices when water stops flowing from your faucets.

5. There are things in your refrigerator that no one should eat. Or see. Or smell.

6. A power outage will give you the opportunity to remove these gross, smelly things from your refrigerator.

7. The stuff that makes heat in those funky, little handwarmers is air-activated iron.  Who knew?

8. 24-hour access to the internet is awesome.

9. Washing your face with cold water really does wake you up. Or something like that.

10. Showers are not at all overrated. In fact, they might be underrated. I like them. A lot. Especially when the people I am around take them, too.

11. You can flick the light switch a million times when you walk into a room but, until the power is restored, the lights really won’t turn on.

12. Relating with family members is probably easier with 21st Century distractions like television, computers and video games.

13. While at a friend’s house to take advantage of their electricity, you might find yourself unfamiliar enough with their dishes that you eat your cereal out of the cat’s bowl.

So, the lemonade is a little sour today. Hey, listen, not every day is sunshine and roses. Have a good week, lovelies!

TRY THIS WEEK: Be grateful for Benjamin Franklin.

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday #10: Make Lemonade

  1. carlasonheim says:

    Heh heh. Great post. Keep warm!!

  2. Pam Swallow says:

    I feel your pain. It’s been mighty nippy for two days here on Summer Road, too. But in the middle of the night we heard the power click on! We whooped and cheered and ate raspberries with whipped cream to celebrate. Have faith, your power shall come on, too. I hope you get some berries and whipped cream in preparation for your celebration.

  3. Anonymous says:

    So sorry Dar! We lucked out here. Many of our neighbors in town still have no power but we never lost it.

    My favorite is #11. I would so do that!
    Good luck!

  4. Lori says:

    My lemonade would be to leave town for the weekend. Thanks for the post!

  5. Cath MacAdam says:

    We used to live on acreage and lose power every time the wind blew the wrong way, which once happened 3 days before Xmas with a fridge full of seafood (we live in Australia)… thank goodness for friends with empty beer fridges!
    Wish you all the best for the coming days, not sure which is the biggest challenge, lack of power or a house full of teens…

    • Dar Hosta says:

      Yes, Cath… a house with teenagers who cannot “plug in” for days and days is a bit of a challenge…. tempers are running thin here on Day 5. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Rose Walsh says:

    I hope your power comes on soon Dar. I am the biggest baby when it comes to the loss of power. We were without it the majority of the weekend and I was not a happy camper. Actually I already realized long ago (really since being a Brownie for about a year) that I am no camper!

  7. Andrea says:

    My heart goes out to you…it seems that your sense of humor is intact, and that will take you many places, through many things that you would just as soon not have gone through…with or without a sense of humor….(strange thought, huh?)
    I have also recently learned that “some days you just have to scribble with the black crayon!” Best wishes on staying warm and being able to count those blessings! Aloha, Andrea

    • Dar Hosta says:

      I love that saying, Andrea: “Some days you have to scribble with the black crayon.” I always try to look on the bright side of things but I have to tell you that not having heat and running water is a BITCH.
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

