Monday #51: Flotsam and Jetsam

[flot-sam, noun] : miscellaneous or unimportant material.

[jet-sam, noun: the part of a ship, its equipment, or its cargo that is cast overboard to lighten the load in time of distress and that sinks or is washed ashore.

I had a great post for you today.  I wrote it all out last night so that I could make it to a morning appointment today.  It was about finding time to de-stress and do the things you really want to do.  Wordpress is supposed to auto-save and usually it does.  Except when it doesn’t.

I’m going to take this as a sign from the Universe that I should not stress over this; that it’s unimportant and I should not keep this worry in my proverbial cargo.

Instead, I will give you two other things I did yesterday that are far less stressful than the thought of rewriting a Monday blog.  🙂

I bought these beautiful vegetables at our local Farmer’s Market

And turned them into a delicious batch of Gazpacho.

And I painted some smooth, round stones.

Have a wonderful day, everyone.

TRY THIS WEEK: Don’t sweat the small stuff.

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Monday #51: Flotsam and Jetsam

  1. peg46 says:

    Good Morning … I just realized that this is Post #51 … Please tell me that you will continue to write these amazing postings for ANOTHER 52 Mondays … Peg Jarvis

  2. Pat Brisson says:

    LOVE those stones, Dar!

  3. Anonymous says:

    You haven’t had enough Gazpacho lately? Looks delicious!

    Cool rocks!

    • Dar Hosta says:

      Anonymous, I think I know who you are…

      You can never have enough Gazpacho in the summer time. Whenever I have some somewhere else, it makes me want to make some more.

  4. Allen says:

    An excellent read! (Albeit brief..) My cat liked it as well. 😉

  5. Lisa Firke says:

    Lovely vegetables, lovely rocks, lovely post.

  6. sansku says:

    found your blog via carla sonheim’s. love your painted rocks. i was trying to figure out how you painted them but the picture is too small. my favorite one is the one on the right. i love trees. 🙂 i read your running story. i’m 43, out of shape, i love to eat, pants don’t fit well anymore… my little one starts school in the fall and i won’t have any more excuses not to start getting in shape. i’m scared. the goal seems monumental. but it’s stories like yours that give me hope that even i could succeed somehow. thanks!

    • Dar Hosta says:

      Hello! Thanks for stopping by! Here’s how I painted the rocks:
      1. Find nice, smooth rocks and scrub them clean with dishsoap, water and a brush.
      2. Let dry 2 days, flip them over between days.
      3. Prep rock with “acrylic satin varnish” and let dry on a non-stick surface (not paper or cardboard, it will stick). Do both sides, be careful to get it thin and not drippy.
      4. Use acrylic inks with a nib or acrylic paints with a very thin round brush to do your design.
      5. Fix with a spray fixative like Krylon. Dry.
      6. Cover with another coat of satin varnish if desired.

      As for the fitness… you CAN do it. Yes, it will be hard. But, don’t be scared. Being overweight, not having clothes that fit and feeling terrible about all that is WAAAAAAAAY scarier. Every single pound starts with one, awful little ounce. Just get up every morning and make it happen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

