Monday #44: Out Of My Mind

Wow, I’m really late today.  All I can say is, it happens.  I’m sorry…. the truth is, I couldn’t think of anything to write about for today’s blog.  I was fretting about it all day yesterday.  I really just couldn’t think of anything.  I needed an idea.

I thought and thought about it and then, finally, at the end of the day, I asked two good friends what they thought I should write about.  One said, solitude… write about solitude, because I have been (happily) experiencing some of that lately.  The other said, creativity is better without a thought in mind.  OK.  Thanks.  I’ll think on that. It was late, I was pretty tired, and I went to bed.

So, I woke up this morning and I asked the Universe where ideas come from.  Actually, I asked Google where ideas come from and, lo and behold, there were a ton of possible answers.  I watched Steven Johnson’s brilliant animated short film, Where Good Ideas Come From, and I read Luciano Passuello’s article on Mind Mapping (I read it again, for probably like the tenth time, because I have wanted to try mind mapping since I saw this article).  Then I got out all my drawing supplies, fixed myself another cup of coffee, turned on my favorite music and spent about three hours outside on my back porch, with my two dogs, exploring the idea of IDEAS.

I thought about my ideas, where they come from, where they go and what they do.  I made my first mind map.  It was so meditative.  I could have worked on it all day, I think, but I really do have other things to do today.  It’s a picture of all the things I would have said about my ideas but not nearly as long as my usual post.  🙂

Both friends were right about today’s post, by the way.  I was alone inside and outside of my own head, and creativity was better without a specific thought in mind.

Have a terrific week, everyone.

TRY THIS WEEK:  Make a mind map.  Try it.  You’ll be hooked.

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday #44: Out Of My Mind

  1. Pam Swallow says:

    I love this post, Dar. When we relax and let ideas come to us, it’s like a stream filling the well.
    I enjoyed seeing how your ideas flowed. (And I loved that the bird you drew is a swallow.)

  2. Judy Shreve says:

    Great post – I did a post yesterday about creativity & focus too. And I got the ‘idea’ from reading someone else’s post on the subject. The stars must be aligned for mindfulness!

    I was able to do ‘mind-mapping’ at a workshop recently – such a great tool.

  3. Pingback: Monday #1: Happy Birthday! | Dar Hosta's 52 Mondays Blog

  4. Very good blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

