Monday #1: Curiosity & Questions

12:00 noon came.  I popped what I thought was a new battery into my old Canon and drove to the spot I’d been thinking would be good for this project for months.  I parked the van, found the shot…. drat, this was a DEAD battery.  Now what?  Sometimes things don’t turn out as you plan.

Back to house, repeat above steps.  Took 2 pictures just to be sure.  Good thing because my camera has been glitchy on the transfer into iPhoto and only one came through.

Like any new project, like any new direction, there are questions.

1. Why am I doing this?

2. Does anyone care?

3. Will I be able to meet my goals?

4. What will I learn?

I think that, in the beginning, all projects seem a little wishy-washy, but I always have faith in the notion that I will learn something–perhaps, a lot of things.  My dad always says that every good teacher should ask themselves one simple question at the end of every day… what did I learn from my students today?  I guess everything inside of us starts with a little curiosity.  Don’t you think?

I do like this picture.  And I love this place.

Of course, as in everything, there are some rules here that I see.  Some rules are made to be broken.  During the next 364 days I will be…

Hunting for hidden treasures,

Fishing for connections,

Trapping moments,

and TRESPASSING!  But only a little.  Say, like a foot or two.  And only for like about 15 seconds.

TRY THIS WEEK: Set goals, ask questions, break rules.

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday #1: Curiosity & Questions

  1. Alisa Novak says:

    I’m sorry to hear your favorite place will soon become a development. I’ve watched over my 45 years many of my favorite spots in Ohio become cookie cutter developments. Being married to a surveyor/engineer who developed many of them, I realize that it’s what brings food to my table and provides a roof over my head. It’s only then I realize I have to be “OK” with it.

  2. Dar Hosta says:

    I see your side. But, I have been to Hilton Head Island this year…. for the first time. It’s an amazing place and proof that beautiful places can be inhabited by both people and buildings without making it cookie cutter and without destroying the environment. Developers can make places that are harmonious with nature and, while people adapt to the stuff they are given if they don’t have the option of choice, when they see what is possible, they grieve for what has been made ugly without their well being being taken into consideration. Not all the food on our table is good for us.

  3. Pingback: Monday #52: The Finish Line? | Dar Hosta's Monday Blog

Leave a Reply

