Random Monday: Hello, Friends

IMG_1218

While I’ve been enjoying my Monday sabbatical, I will tell all of you, my dear readers, that I do miss you and I’ve so appreciated all the messages I’ve gotten from all of you saying that you miss me. My father passed away June 5 and, since then, I have been trying to manage my calendar and keep my stress levels at just below a fever pitch. Finding time for calm and connecting with good people has been key.

This fall, there will be a new iteration of my blog at http://www.darsworld.com. It is unlikely to have the same, rigid Monday structure or the consistent journalistic style but, instead, be more of a personal reflection of my life as a creative person. My sweet partner and I are in the middle of relocating to New Hope, PA right now which heralds in a whole new chapter, both personally and professionally, and I look forward to all the new inspiration that will come from living in such a creatively charmed town and how I will share it with the world.

Stay tuned.

But now, it’s time for some CTL– that’s CREATIVE TOUGH LOVE… read on… My colleague, Deb Barends, and I absolutely love doing our Creativity Institute every summer. If you’ve been there with us, you know it’s like nineteen tons of inspirational fun. We’ve been fortunate to have amazing, and pretty famous, guest instructors like Carla SonheimPamela Swallow, Brod Bagert and Gerald Fierst, to name a few. In the beginning, it was mostly geared towards teachers but, since 2011 it grew to attract creative souls of all kinds. This year we have the illustrative Diana Trout from Philadelphia and the talented Lisa Firke from the DC area.

BUT GUESS WHAT??? If we don’t get FOUR more people to sign up we are going to have to CANCEL for the first time in ever!! We aren’t beating around the bush here, people. We’ve dropped the “regular” price and everyone can sign up for the “early bird” price– $275.00. It’s TWO FULL DAYS of projects, all your supplies, FOUR unique workshops by different instructors and, did I mention? IT INCLUDES LUNCH AND CHOCOLATE!!!? Seriously, try to find a better deal. NJ Create is going on right now and you can bet, if you’re there, they can’t come close.

SO, THIS IS IT GUYS. Many of you said you wanted to come, planned to come, blah, blah, blah. Message me now if you are for reals. Go towww.teachingoutofthebox.wordpress.com and download the registration form. Send it in or, much to our disappointment, we will have to try to see you again in 2015.

Tootb-promo

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Monday: Hello, Friends

  1. Allen says:

    When I read the topic ‘Tough Love’, I thought that I would be reading about how to handle kids who leave windows open with air conditioners running. :)

Leave a Reply

