Monday #16: Push Time

Eternal_clock

Yes, we are approaching resolution time again, my friends. Seems hardly possible that another year has whooshed right past us but, there you have it. I certainly feel like time really does fly. I don’t, however, want to jump the gun on making anyone feel like they should come up with all the things they plan to change just yet and, the truth is, I’m not all that into resolutions because I think that for the most part people don’t usually stick to them. But I got to thinking about time recently after a few people I hadn’t seen in a while, all made similar announcements to me–more about that in a minute.

First, let’s take a moment to really think about time. Often the idea of time makes us feel anxious and hurried, doesn’t it? We feel like there isn’t enough time in the day to get things done, we watch the clock, darting off to the next thing and the next thing and we always feel rushed and late, we mourn the passage of “good times” with regret and longing rather than the sweet reverie they truly deserve and we approach birthdays and anniversaries with a sense of being “old.” But, time is good for so many things!

It gives us space to prepare and space to savor.

It gives us moments to express and moments to reflect.

It gives us a place to work and a place to heal.

So, during the last week, three different women approached me with a big smile saying, “Hey Dar!” They put up their arm proudly like Popeye making a muscle and said, “You inspired me! I’ve been doing my push-ups! Feel!” They flexed their arms and I felt their accomplishment and their pride. So now, my friends, this meditation on time is about to turn into a post with a fitness tip… just in TIME for your resolutions, people.

Yeah, I have this crazy push-up program. Actually, if you have heard me tell it, you know it’s more than just a program. It’s a little bit of a compulsion, an obsession, or a little bit of a fitness religion really.  But, it’s super simple and gives great results. You just gotta give it…. time.

DSCF3743

Fifteen years ago, over the course of about 18 months, I lost 40 pounds. I went from a size 12 verging on a 14 to a size 4. One of the things I hated most about being overweight was the way my arms looked in skimpy summer clothing and after I saw a picture of myself at a picnic, I knew I had to drop the pounds. I did it by doing these four things every day: I cut down my meal portions (and seriously cut down white starches), I began walking (which eventually turned to running), I did as many crunches as I could before I thought I would die (in time, this was 200) and I religiously did 25 push-ups every single day. I continue to watch what I eat, and, while I still run, it is more like 4 days a week. I sometimes do the crunches but I always, always, always do the push-ups. As a result, my arms get noticed and I get to spread the gospel of the humble but mighty push-up.

You can go look up all the ways to do them and to do them correctly–and here’s a great place–but this is what I think is important: You gotta do them every day and you gotta always do 25, but you can do them at any ability level or in any combination of ability level you are at. That means, if you can only do them on the wall, that’s what you do. You can graduate from wall to kitchen counter and then kitchen counter to floor, where you can start with “girlie” push-ups on your knees until you can do them regular style and finally, “military” which is most advanced. Oh, and guess what? Even at a snail’s pace, this lovely little good thing you can do for your body takes so little time (less than five minutes!) you’ll wonder why you didn’t start them sooner.

So that’s it today. Time and push-ups–an awesome exercise for so many parts of your body and if you can stick with this for some time, you will start to feel those sexy shoulder muscles come to life. Get ready for your sundresses and tank tops.  How about it?  Health is where it’s at, you know. That’s how we get through this thing called time with all the advantages we need. That’s how we make it for the long haul. Healthy mind, healthy body. Don’t make excuses. Prepare your mind, do the work and savor the results. And, the best part is that, afterwards, you get to say…

photo

TRY THIS WEEK: Drop and give yourself 25!

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday #16: Push Time

  1. Pam Swallow says:

    I do sit-ups, and now I shall add push-ups. It’s never too late to get in good shape. Thank you, Dar!

Leave a Reply

