Monday #8: Sweetness

photoSometimes keeping a blog is a real challenge for me and, often, on Sundays, I feel a little bit like my once upon a time teenage self who didn’t have her homework ready for Monday’s math class. During the course of a weekend, it isn’t uncommon for me to be out with people and say, “OK, so someone give me a topic for Monday’s blog.” While people will usually come back with the things they like to think about–many of which don’t necessarily have an immediate hook for me–I find that this kind of exercise is good because it gets me out of my own head and some of my best posts come from the brainstormy ideas of others.

Last night, Jeff and I had dinner at a friend’s house and, as the dessert hit the table, I made my request to the group: Guys, I need a topic for tomorrow… What should I write about? Everyone looked at the plate full of goodies we’d selected at a local bakery and said, “Dessert! Write about dessert!” Now, I think this was maybe a little bit of a playful jokey kind of idea, but, ironically, it is not the first time I’ve gotten this suggestion. Not so long ago, Jeff suggested I write about cake, which I did.  And, really, I’m willing to consider writing about just about anything. I thought about what a blog post about dessert might be like and then the idea of dessert morphed into sweetness.

Initially, thinking about sweetness seemed a lot like thinking about the things in life that are nice and good and being grateful for them. My kids are sweet, my boyfriend, Jeff, is sweet, my family and friends are sweet, the woman who runs the gallery where I show my work is sweet, and on and on. Without a doubt, I’m so very thankful for all these sweet people in my life.

But when I did a Google search for sweetness, I found that there were so many quotes about sweetness. Here are just a few:

In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures. For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed. ~Khalil Gibran

For above all things Love means sweetness, and truth, and measure; yea, loyalty to the loved one and to your word. And because of this I dare not meddle with so high a matter. ~Marie de France

The pursuit of perfection, then, is the pursuit of sweetness and light. ~Matthew Arnold

“It is the passion that is in a kiss that gives to it its sweetness; it is the affection in a kiss that sanctifies it.” ~Christian Nevell Bovee

“Do not keep the alabaster boxes of your love and tenderness sealed up until your friends are dead. Fill their lives with sweetness, speak cheering words while their ears can hear, and while their hearts can be thrilled and made happier by them.” ~William Congreve

Sweetness, it appears, is kind of deep stuff. Rather than just a feel-good thing, it seems more like a really strong emotional connection to something or someone that kind of reaches right into you and grabs you in the middle of your beating heart. Sweetness seems to have a lingering quality to it, too. It takes up residence in our memories and, often, has a little bit of sadness or longing attached to it and, maybe, this is what makes it so much more than just the experience of something good. Sweetness is something we never want to end and, when it does, we feel the presence of its passing.

Being able to find life’s sweetness requires that we be fully present, that we abandon fear and ego and allow our selves to experience life authentically. Seeing and experiencing life’s sweetness brings an intensity to goodness that we can carry into other experiences as we move forward… perhaps becoming the sweetness for someone else.

TRY THIS WEEK: Find the sweetness in your life.

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday #8: Sweetness

  1. Janet says:

    I actually thought of you and this weekly deadline, yesterday. I wondered if the responsibility of it hangs over your head, spoiling your weekend – and hoped not.
    Please know that your efforts are appreciated. I have learned about art and alternate ways of taking in the world from your writings. I hope you continue to commune with your friendly muses and feel good about what you are sending out into the e-byss.

    • Oh, Janet. That is one of the nicest responses I’ve ever received. Thank you. Keeping this blog never “spoils” my weekend. Sometimes I worry that I don’t have a good idea, but what keeping this blog really does is open my mind to the world around me from week to week. It keeps me looking for meaning and ways that I can attach what I observe to my life as an individual and then, hopefully, pass it along to the people I encounter. It has been, and continues to be, an immeasurable part of my self growth. Thank you for thinking of me. xoxo

  2. James Tadych says:

    Dearest Dar, Sweet are you. Love, Dad.

Leave a Reply

