Monday #31: Mission Possible

Seek-Joy-Blue-Wild-Heart-3x3

I am at my best when I am in my JOY… when I am creating something beautiful or inspiring or helping others to do the same.
I will try to prevent times when I feel my life isn’t exactly as it should be.
I will enjoy my work by continuing to build a career where I can create, inspire, have fun and be with other people making something positive.
I will find enjoyment in my personal life through staying physically active, being with others and having amazing adventures.
I will find opportunities to use my natural talents and gifts such as art, teaching, mentoring and public speaking.
I can do anything I set my mind to. I will have a center for creativity where people can play, learn and be in touch with their spirit.

My life’s journey is to explore creativity and how it makes us better at everything we do. It is for everyone who would like to participate in this kind of a journey. I’m doing it because I believe it makes us more in touch with our higher selves and brings success in all areas of our lives. The results are greater joy in our personal and professional lives.
I will be a person whose friends and family will say their lives have been touched or changed by knowing me. I would like them to say that I was passionate, open hearted and inspiring.
My most important future contribution to others will be helping them to consider new ways of thinking in order to know them selves better and act in life with a higher purpose.

I will stop procrastinating and start working on:

Abandoning my fear of failure.
Being more in touch with my emotions towards others.
Quieting the critical voice inside my head.

I will strive to incorporate the following attributes into my life:

Patience
Open Heartedness
Friendship

I will constantly renew myself by focusing on the four dimensions of my life:

Staying active and moving my body every day.
Being observant of the world and the natural gifts it bestows.
Continuing t0 learn and acquire new knowledge and awareness.
Finding ways to be grateful for the important people and events in my life that help me to be my higher self.

The-Gathering-Tree

This is my Personal Mission Statement, Friends. We all think about who we want to be and how we want to live, but putting it down on paper is truly powerful stuff. Recently, a friend sent me a link to the Franklin Covey site, a large, leadership training program that hosts seminars, talks and workshops all across the country. Much of what they offer is very corporate and a little challenging for me to relate to, however, inside their site they have a Mission Statement builder, which is where I made mine. It’s a free, online tool that takes you through a series of thought provoking questions and then turns them into a statement that you can edit and tweak to your liking. When I did a search, I found that there are plenty of sites that boast mission statement builders, but this one has a decidedly personal appeal and gives you something very easy to play with once you are finished.

I like having a Personal Mission Statement because it allows me to affirm what I know are my strengths, to keep my conviction of the direction I need to be going in and check in on the challenges I know I have in order to continue working on them. And, the beauty of creating one is that it is something that I can constantly edit and revise as my life continues to evolve.

What if you had YOUR very own Personal Mission Statement?

TRY THIS WEEK: Make YOUR Personal Mission Statement! The Covey Mission Statement Builder can be found here: http://www.franklincovey.com/msb/

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday #31: Mission Possible

  1. Pam Swallow says:

    Your mission statement resonates strongly with me, and I very much appreciate all those swallows in that beautiful painting!
    xo, Pam Swallow

  2. lwostl says:

    Dar – thank you for sharing your mission statement with us. It is a brave and vulnerable thing to do. I too have a strong mission statement, but having recently moved my office – the poster of it is not easy to see. I will dig it out today and look to see if it needs to be updated. I actually call it my Life Charter and the purpose my life is for is to inspire others to take action for lives of power and passion. Thanks again. Lori W. of Art Camp for Women

  3. Very thought provoking as usual. Enjoy your blog and your art so much. Thanks for sharing it with the world.

  4. Susan Medyn says:

    Thank you. All wonderful words.

Leave a Reply

