Monday #8: Falling For Haiku

When nighttime temperatures dip below 50, you know it’s autumn. I’m always fascinated by how the leaves seem to change from green to shades of yellow, red and orange in a matter of only a few days. When the sun is shining and the wind is blowing, they fly through the air and light up the sky like confetti as you barrel down the freeway on your way to the next thing. Personally, I find the changing of seasons very humbling and, as the transition takes place, I really feel the march of time stronger than other days when our landscapes are more visually static. What does autumn make you feel?

I have a sense that it is proper to honor the Universe in these moments and, if you follow this blog, you know that I often return to haiku¬†to give small, gentle reverence to the large and awesome. Won’t you join me and write a haiku on this lovely, autumn Monday? (Syllables: 5-7-5). And, please, leave it in the comments section for everyone to enjoy!

What did you know then

As time marched on and made a

Show of bright colors?

TRY THIS WEEK: Write an autumn haiku, of course!

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Monday #8: Falling For Haiku

  1. Tricia Patterson says:

    Sunshine, brisk fresh air,
    And showers of falling leaves
    Always make me smile.

  2. Judy Shreve says:

    Colors bright just right
    Evenings chilly snuggle up
    Cider fills my mug

  3. Meg Fowler says:

    Morning coffee hot
    Mist over mountains hiding
    Red orange and gold.

  4. Dar Hosta says:

    These are all beautiful… I love writing with adults by the choosing of a single topic. Everyone’s vision is so unique.

  5. beth loveland says:

    Might I interrupt this regularly scheduled blog post to bring you the highly irreverent poem I wrote in College…

    Writing a Haiku

    Want to write haiku
    Can’t remember syllables
    How many am I supposed to put in here?

    Maybe it is five
    And then next, it is seven
    And then five again.

    Yes, I think that’s it
    But without punctuation
    I’ll get rid of that

    Must have a subject
    Right, it must be an image
    Brainstorm images

    Rotten fig in fridge
    Dog pees on a fire hydrant
    Bug on my windshield

    None of these work well
    Must be a pleasant image
    Think about nature

    Rain drips on windows
    Sidewalk glistens wet with rain
    I hope I don’t slip

    No no that’s not right
    It is not pretty at all
    I’ll just start over

    Feather on the ground
    White against the black pavement
    Hope I do not slip

    Piss! Think prettier
    Write it with no fear this time
    This could be genius

    Dawn in morning sky
    Purple sliding into gold
    Colors melt on land

    There is my haiku
    Nestled deep inside the rough
    Now…to get published…

  6. Tom Hlas says:

    Red, yellow, gold, bronze
    Leaves quietly fall from high
    Like sand through fingers.

    • Dar Hosta says:

      That is a nice image and I like the parallel, perhaps, of the allusion to the “sands of time.” The changing of seasons always makes me think of time. Thanks, Tom.

      • Tom Hlas says:

        A pleasure, Dar. The sands of time were exactly the sands I contemplated. Thanks so much for giving us the opportunity to create word pictures.

  7. beth loveland says:

    All jokes aside. This year’s fall haiku:

    A splattered palette
    Mysterious harmony
    Rust leaves. Azure sky.

  8. carlasonheim says:

    I’m scared to write one
    All of these are love-er-ly…
    “Rain on my window?”

  9. Kate Zerbe says:

    She takes off her leaves.
    Mother Nature’s slow striptease.
    She bares it for fALL to see…

  10. Anonymous says:

    Dar Good idea
    summer is just a dream
    enjoy the autumn views whilst you can
    winter peeks around the corner

Leave a Reply

