Monday #8: For The Birds

Perhaps you’ve seen them… lurking around my Facebook and my Flickr.  Actually, they’re not cute and they’d be kind of hard to miss.

They showed up sometime last year.  It wasn’t like I asked them to…. one day they were just…. there.  At first they didn’t say much.  Then they started it up.  The ranting.  The constant ranting.  I noticed immediately that they weren’t here to make us feel all warm and fuzzy like some of their kind do.  And it quickly became clear that they wouldn’t stop.

Sometimes, they even brought their friends.

I’ll admit I haven’t been quite sure what to do.  I asked them, very politely, to go.  In fact, I asked them more than once.  I tried to cheer them up, tried to make them happy, tried to get them to stop.  Finally, I just shooed them away and told them never to come back.

Thank goodness that, for the moment, it appears as though they are content in their NEW PLACE.  I know you’ll be curious– you’ll want to peek in on them, see how they are doing, see if they have settled in or if they are still ranting on and on and on– but, I must tell you, these are feathers you do not want to ruffle.  Use caution.  Walk softly.

TRY THIS WEEK:  Shhhhhhhh…. Just be quiet and, whatever you do, don’t let them see you!

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in The Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monday #8: For The Birds

  1. FABULOUS! I love Mondays with you! And let me say, the birds are great, whether you want them around… another story. Thanks for an uplifting beautiful post. Kris

  2. Judy Shreve says:

    Dar – love your cranky birds! What a wonderful (humorous) way to rant!

  3. Anonymous says:

    haa-haa- hee-hee.. LOVE your birds !!!!!!!!!!
    It’s Tuesday, no .. Wednesday, and your birds are just what I needed!!

  4. oh, Dar, that’s me.. Loretta .. forgot to log in…!

  5. Cathie Pesa says:

    I have names for all your Cranky Birds…….I know better than to ruffle their feathers haha- they have long sharp beaks and they are not afraid to use them. They give me a good laugh.

Leave a Reply

