IRA Poem From “Camp Read & Write A Lot”

First of all, a huge, huge thank you to all the enthusiastic participants who came to my session with Claudia McVicker!  I had so much fun with you!  I have been beating the creativity drum for many years now and it is so terrific to meet up with teachers who share my philosophy about all the things that are possible when we bring CREATIVITY into our classrooms.

I will be sending the handout files as an attachment when I return to New Jersey and I hope that you will add your poem to this spot!  I look forward to our paths crossing again…

“Nature Walk” by Dar & Marguerite, May 10, 2011

I’m looking slowly at the trees.

It’s fun to tip-toe around the chipmunks.

I’m touching the leaves in nature

and smelling the beautiful flowers everywhere.

There are lovely sounds I’m hearing here.

God is all around seeing the beauty with me.

About Dar Hosta James

I am an artist living in New Jersey. I write and illustrate children's books, paint, draw, blog, coach, teach and speak about creativity.
This entry was posted in Artistic Interludes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to IRA Poem From “Camp Read & Write A Lot”

  1. Jean says:

    Hi Dar. Thank you for an outstanding session this afternoon. You have inspired me to incorporate more poetry in my first grade classroom. Here is my poem from today.

    Maura

    You are a new sleepy and tired baby.
    A pink precious flower couldn’t compare to you.
    I love to caress your buttery soft skin.
    Your puppy likes to cuddle next to you in your furry blankie.
    Your newborn scent is like sweet smelling perfume.
    You are my tender loving granddaughter girl.

    Thanks again for your inspiration. Jean

    • Dar Hosta says:

      Thank you, Maura…. your granddaughter will treasure this, I am sure, when she is old enough to know the feelings behind the words. I am so happy to read your poem!

  2. Darlene says:

    Today’s session was wonderful. Thank you so much for your creativity and inspiration. Here is my poem, created in under 6 minutes.

    The Beach
    The white sand glistens.
    I see a pretty sand dollar,
    Washed ashore by the melodious, crashing waves.
    The seagull is flying overhead,
    unbothered by the steamy hot weather.
    The shine shines brightly.
    And I’m at peace.

    And here’s another created by my husband after I shared my experience at this session with him.

    In writing a poem, the hardest part
    is knowing where to stop and how to start.
    So forgive me a bit,
    if I slip and slog.
    This is the very first time
    I’ve tried to blog.

Leave a Reply

